Skip to main content

NIH Clinical Center Senior Staff

Office of the Chief Executive Officer

Chief Executive Officer
James K. Gilman, MD

Chief Operating Officer
Pius A. Aiyelawo, FACHE

Chief Medical Officer

Chief Nurse Officer
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Executive Officer
Daniel Lonnerdal, MS, FACHE

Chief Financial Officer
Maria D. Joyce, CPA, MBA

Departments & Offices

Administrative Management
Lula Russell, Acting

Animal Program
Lisa G. Portnoy, DVM

Chief & Head, Section on Human Subjects Research
Christine Grady, PhD, MSN

Head, Section on Ethics & Health Policy
Marion Danis, MD

Head, Unit on Vulnerable Populations
David S. Wendler, PhD, MA

Biomedical Translational Research Informatics
Jon McKeeby, DSc, Acting

Biostatistics and Clinical Epidemiology Service
Paul Wakim, PhD

Clinical Research Informatics
Jon McKeeby, DSc

Clinical Research Training & Medical Education
Robert Lembo, MD, FAAP

Communications & Media Relations & Patient Recruitment
Justin Cohen, MS, MA

Credentialing Services
Joseph Hendery, RHIA

Critical Care Medicine
Henry Masur, MD

Deputy Chief; Medical Director, Critical Care Therapy & Respiratory Care Section
Anthony F. Suffredini, MD

Senior Research Physician; Associate Chief; Director of Fellowship
Nitin Seam, MD

Tenure-Track Investigator; Head, Emerging Pathogens Section
Daniel S. Chertow, MD, MPH

Head, Functional Genomics Facility
Robert L. Danner, MD

Senior Investigator; Head, Critical Care Section; Head, Animal Physiology Lab
Peter Q. Eichacker, MD

Tenure-Track Investigator; Head, Pulmonary Vascular Biology Section; Co-Director, Translational Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension Program; Assistant Director, 4D Lab
Jason M. Elinoff, MD

Attending Intensivist; Associate Research Physician; Head, Clinical Epidemiology Section
Sameer S. Kadri, MD, MS

Senior Investigator; Head, AIDS Section; Head, Scientific Director, 4D Lab
Joseph Kovacs, MD

Head, Anesthesia Section
Charles Natanson, MD

Special Volunteer
James Shelhamer, MD

Staff Clinician; Head, Cardiology Section; Co-Director, Translational Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension Program
Michael A. Solomon, MD

Tenure-Track Investigator; Head, Code Blue Team and Rapid Response Team
Parizad Torabi-Parizi, MD

Edmond J. Safra Family Lodge
General Manager
LT Jamillah Bynum,

Employee Ethics
Molly Deol

Financial Resource Management
Daniel Rinehuls

Hospital Epidemiology Service
Tara N. Palmore, MD

Hospitality & Volunteer Services 
LT Jamillah Bynum, LCSW

Internal Medicine Consult Service
Naomi P. O'Grady, MD

Laboratory Medicine
Karen M. Frank, PhD, MD, D(ABMM)

Chief, Clinical Chemistry Service
David B. Sacks, MB ChB, FACP, FRCPath

Chief, Hematology Service
Raul Braylan, MD

Director, Genomics Section, Microbiology Service
John P. Dekker, MD, PhD, FCAP

Management Analysis & Reporting

Materials Management & Environmental Services
Bernard Harper

Medical Records
Patricia Coffey, RHIA

Chief Nurse Officer,
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Deputy Chief Nurse, Research & Practice Development
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Nursing Service Chief, Medical Surgical Specialties
Ann Marie Matlock, RN, MSN, NE-BC

Nursing Service Chief, Neuroscience, Behavioral Health & Pediatrics
James Paterson,MS, RN, CNRN, Acting

Nursing Service Chief, Oncology and Critical Care
Deborah Kolakowski, RN, MSN

Annie Cichocki, MS, MSS, RD, LD

Deputy Executive Officer
Ila Anita Flannigan, MHSA, FACHE

Pain & Palliative Care
Ann Berger, MD

Patient Representative
Antoinette Jones, MSOD, RN

Patient Safety & Clinical Quality
Laura Lee, RN, MSc

Patient Support Services
Karen Kaczorowski, RN, MHSA

Pediatric Service
Deborah P. Merke, MD, MS

Perioperative Medicine
Andrew Mannes, MD, ME, MBA

Chief, Pediatric Anesthesia and Critical Care
Zena Quezado, MD

Richard DeCederfelt, RPh, MS, Acting

Positron Emission Tomography
Peter Herscovitch, MD

Protocol Services
Kim Mitchell, RHIA

Purchasing & Contracts
Susan Nsangou

Radiology & Imaging Sciences
Elizabeth Jones, MD

Associate Director for Clinical Services
Elizabeth Jones, MD

Chief, Nuclear Medicine
Ronald D. Neumann, MD

Chief, Laboratory of Diagnostic Radiology Research
Director, Imaging Sciences Training Program
Joseph A. Frank, MD, MS

Chief, Clinical Imaging Processing Services
Ronald Summers, MD, PhD

Director, NIH Center for Interventional Oncology
Chief, Interventional Radiology Section
Bradford Wood, MD

Rehabilitation Medicine
Leighton Chan, MD, MPH

Chief, Functional & Applied Biomechanics Section
Diane L. Damiano, PhD, PT

Director, Rehabilitation Medicine Consult Service
Galen Joe, MD

Chief, Occupational Therapy Section
Bonnie C. Hudson OTR/L

Chief, Speech Language Pathology Section
Adam M. Politis, M.S., CCC-SLP

Chief, Epidemiology & Biostatistics Section
Elizabeth K. Rasch, PhD, PT

Chief, Recreational Therapy Section
Donna Gregory, CTRS, MBA

Chief, Physical Therapy Section
Michaela R. Smith, PT, M Ed

Social Work
Kathleen M. Baxley, MHA, MBA, LIC SW, LCSW

Spiritual Care
John M. Pollack, MDiv., BCC

Transfusion Medicine
Cathy Conry-Cantilena, MD, Acting

Chief, Blood Services Section
Kamille West, MD

Chief, Cell Processing Station
David. F. Stroncek, MD

Distinguished NIH Investigator
Harvey Alter, MD

Chief, Laboratory Services Section
Willy A. Flegel, MD

Medical Director, Center for Cellular Engineering
Sandhya R. Panch, MD, MPH

Workforce Management & Development
Charlotte Pak, Acting

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 01/22/2020

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at