The Medical Executive Committee, comprised of the various clinical directors of the NIH intramural clinical research programs and other senior medical and administrative staff, advises the Clinical Center Director and develops policies governing standards of medical care in the Clinical Center. The Committee represents and acts for the Medical Staff and other clinical professionals in the Clinical Center, and enforces the rules and policies of the Clinical Center.

The Medical Executive Committee

Carter Van Waes, MD, PhD
Chair, Medical Executive Committee
Clinical Director
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
(301) 402-4216
vanwaesc@nidcd.nih.gov

Avindra Nath, MD
Vice Chair, Medical Executive Committee
Clinical Director
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
(301) 496-1561
natha@ninds.nih.gov

Katherine Araque, MD
Clinical Fellow
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
(301) 761-5038
katherine.araque@nih.gov

James E. Balow, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
(301) 496-4181
james.e.balow@nih.gov

Brian Brooks, MD
Clinical Director
National Eye Institute
(301) 451-2238
brooksb@nei.nih.gov

Richard Childs, MD
Clinical Director
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
(301) 451-7128
childsr@nhlbi.nih.gov

William L. Dahut, MD
Clinical Director
National Cancer Institute
(301) 496-4251
dahutw@mail.nih.gov

Josephine M. Egan, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute on Aging
(410) 350-3922
eganj@mail.nih.gov

William A. Gahl, MD, PhD
Clinical Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
(301) 402-7239
gahlw@nhgri.nih.gov

David Goldman, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
(301) 443-0059
davidgoldman@mail.nih.gov

Janet Hall, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
(919) 316-4525
janet.hall@nih.gov

David K. Henderson, MD
Clinical Director
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-3515
dhenderson@mail.cc.nih.gov

H. Clifford Lane, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
(301) 496-7196
clane@niaid.nih.gov

Janice S. Lee, DDS, MD, MS
Clinical Director
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
(301) 594-4591
leejs2@mail.nih.gov

W. Marston Linehan, MD
Surgeon-in-Chief
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-6353
wml@mail.nih.gov

Henry Masur, MD
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-9320
hmasur@mail.cc.nih.gov

Deborah P. Merke, MD, MS
Chief, Pediatric Services
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-0718
merked@mail.nih.gov

Anna Napoles, PhD, MPH
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
(301) 496-3348
anna.napoles@nih.gov

Maryland Pao, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Mental Health
(301) 435-5770
paom@mail.nih.gov

Karran Phillips, MD, MSc
Clinical Director
National Institute on Drug Abuse
(443) 740-2298
phillipsk@nida.nih.gov

Christopher Pleyer, MD,
Clinical Fellow
National Heart, Blood, and Lung Institute
(301) 402-2399
christopher.pleyer@nih.gov

Forbes D. Porter, MD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
(301) 435-4432
fdporter@helix.nih.gov

Zenaide M. Quezado, MD
Chief, Pediatric Anesthesiology & Critical Care Section, DPM
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 827-1271
zquezado@mail.nih.gov

Richard M. Siegel, MD, PhD
Clinical Director
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
(301) 496-3761
siegelr@mail.nih.gov

Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN
Acting Chief Nurse Officer
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 495-3489
gwallen@cc.nih.gov

Suzanne Wingate, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAHA
Clinical Director
National Institute of Nursing Research
(301) 827-0982
suzanne.wingate@nih.gov

Ex Officio Members

James K. Gilman, MD 
Chief Executive Officer
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-4114
James.Gilman@nih.gov

John I. Gallin, MD  
Chief Scientific Officer
NIH Clinical Center 
Associate Director for Clinical Research, NIH
(301) 827-8290
JGallin@cc.nih.gov

Andrew Griffith, MD, PhD
Deputy Director for Intramural Clinical Research, NIH
(301) 402-2829
griffita@nidcd.nih.gov

Carrie G. Kennedy, JD
Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
(301) 496-6043
carrie.kennedy@mail.nih.gov

Richard G. Wyatt, MD
Office of the Director, NIH
(301) 496-4920
wyattrg@od.nih.gov

Exec Sec

Laura M. Lee, RN, MSc 
Executive Secretary
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 496-8025
llee@mail.cc.nih.gov

Natascha Pointer 
Staff Support
NIH Clinical Center
(301) 402-2434
npointer@cc.nih.gov

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 11/29/2017

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at http://www.cc.nih.gov/disclaimers.html