Skip to main content

Department of Transfusion Medicine

Symposium Schedule

Thirty-Eighth Annual Symposium

Session 1: Moderator Walter E. Kelley, DO
8:25 - 8:30 Opening Remarks
8:30 - 9:05 Infectious disease rates among donors reinstated after changes to the men having sex with other men (MSM) deferral policy Susan L. Stramer, PhD
9:05 - 9:40 Transfusion in Europe: Regulation, Biovigilance and Blood Products

Diarmaid Ó Donghaile, MB BCh, MSc, MD, MRCPI, FRCPath

9:40 - 10:15 ABO Mistransfusion and Reported Fatalities – Patient Safety Update Anne Eder, MD PhD
10:15 - 10:45 Coffee Break
Session 2: Moderator David C. Mair, MD
10:45 - 11:30 Richard J. Davey, MD Award
Recipient: Jay S. Epstein, MD
Global Advancement of Blood Availability and Safety
11:30 - 12:05 Granulocyte Transfusion: The State of the Science Kamille A. West, MD
12:05 - 1:00 Lunch
Session 3: Moderator Cathy Conry-Cantilena, MD
1:00 - 2:30 Clinical Vignettes (15 minutes each) followed by panel discussion
Topic Presenter Subject Matter Expert
ABO Leonard Chen, MD, PhD Fumiichiro Yamamoto, PhD
Transfusion-Transmitted Babesia Alexander J. Fenwick, M.D. Laura Tonnetti, PhD
Anti-D Opal Reddy, MD Willy A. Flegel, MD
Chronic Granulomatous Disease Eoghan Molloy, MD, MRCPI, FRCPath Harry L. Malech, MD
2:30 - 3:00 Break
Session 4: Moderator Celina Montemayor, MD PhD
3:00 - 3:35 Bacterial contamination of platelets Evan M. Bloch, MD, MS
3:35 - 4:05 Curative Therapies for Hemoglobinopathies John F. Tisdale, MD
4:05 Adjourn

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 05/31/2019

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at