NIH Clinical Center

This file is provided for reference purposes only. It was current when it was produced, but it is no longer maintained and may now be out of date. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing information may contact us for assistance. For reliable, current information on this and other health topics, we recommend consulting the NIH Clinical Center at
Department of Health and Human Sevices logo and linkNational Institutes of Health logo and link Banner image: "PROFILE" Banner image: "2005"
Download Adobe Acrobat to view PDFs

Back to: Clinical Center home page < Profile 2005

2   Organization and Governance

Advisory Board For Clinical Research


Edward J. Benz, MD
President, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

R. Edward Howell
Vice President and Chief Executive Officer University of Virginia Medical Center


Karen H. Antman, MD
Deputy Director for Translational and
Clinical Sciences National Cancer Institute

Barry S. Coller, MD
David Rockefeller Professor of Medicine
Head of Laboratory of Blood and Vascular Biology
Physician in Chief,
Rockefeller University Hospital
Vice President for Medical Affairs,
Rockefeller University

Robert M. Dickler
Senior Vice President, Division of
Health Care Affairs Association of American Medical Colleges

Ralph D. Feigin, MD
Chairman, Department of Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine

Lee J. Helman, MD
Chief, Pediatric Oncology Branch and
Deputy Director, Center for Cancer Research National Cancer Institute

Brent L. Henry
Vice President and General Counsel
Partners HealthCare System, Inc.

Thomas Insel, MD
Director, National Institute of Mental Health



Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD
Professor and Vice Chairman,
Department of Medicine San Francisco General Hospital

H. Clifford Lane, MD
Clinical Director, National Institute of
Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Peter E. Lipsky, MD
Director, Intramural Research Program
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
Scientific Director, Clinical Research
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Lynnette K. Nieman, MD
Senior Investigator and Deputy Branch Chief Pediatric and Reproductive Endocrinology Branch National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

Joan Y. Reede, MD, MPH, MS
Dean, Office of Diversity and Community Partnership Harvard Medical School

Vivian E. Riefberg
Principal, McKinsey & Company

Stephen Straus, MD
Director, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine


Ex Officio Members:

John I. Gallin, MD
Director, NIH Clinical Center

Maureen E. Gormley, Executive Secretary
Chief Operating Officer, NIH Clinical Center



Michael M. Gottesman, MD
Deputy Director for
Intramural Research, NIH

David R. Rubinow, MD
Chair, Medical Executive Committee and
Clinical Director,
National Institute of Mental Health

Back to top | Previous section | Next Section

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.

National Institutes
of Health
  Department of Health
and Human Services